Ego and Car Pumped at the Garage

I was called ”baby”, ”honey” and ”my love”.  It was the most emotional affection I have received from a stranger in a long time and all I was doing was buying petrol.  The girl taking my money even said it was cool I was buying three scones – and I think she meant it.  No I wasn’t buying all three for me, the other two were for Mammy and Papabear.  We were all tired after our workout at the gym (me still managing to get in for about the sixth time on my three gym passes – nobody asks to see them, it’s the best gym ever!) and requiring carbs, and my car needed petrol to drive to the free gym that never demands my limited guest passes.

She even said ”have a great weekend honey, I’m sure you deserve it,” and even though I am once again jobless and have spent a lot of the last few weeks walking in the park next to my house smiling up at the mountains whilst blaring ”The Only Living Boy in New York” by Simon and Garfunkel on my headphones, I believed I did.

I get all the news I need on the weather report.

Leave a Reply

